How grades are calculated

T Level Awarding

Students who meet the required elements of their T Level will be awarded an overall grade,
in the form of a Pass, Merit, Distinction or Distinction*.

T Level grades are worked out from students’ grades for the Technical Qualification (TQ)
Core and Occupational Specialisms. These are presented as look-up tables. To ensure
fairness, the tables are slightly different for different T Levels depending on the relative size of the
Core Component and Occupational Specialisms.

  • There will be just one look up table for each T Level
  • And there will always be the same instances of each grade available in each look up
    table: six Passes, six Merits, five Distinctions and one Distinction*
  • To be awarded a Distinction*, the student must achieve an A* in the Core and a
    Distinction in the Occupational Specialism(s)

Relative sizes of wave 1 TQ components

The component sizes and proportions for the first TQs are as follows:

T Level Core
Design Surveying and
600 600 1200 Core 50%
OS 50%
Digital Production Design and Development 600 

1200  Core 50%
OS 50%
Education and Early Years 360  545 - 556

910  Core 40%
OS 60%


T Level grading look-up tables 

Based on the proportions of components, the look up tables will be as follows:




Was this page helpful? Yes this article was useful No this article wasn't useful

You have 500 characters remaining