How do T Levels work with UCAS points?

To support progression to higher education, UCAS have confirmed the tariff for T Levels. The tariff is based on an alignment of the standards of attainment for T Levels with the standards of attainment for other level 3 qualifications, including A levels.

UCAS points will be allocated to the overall T Level grade and not to separate components of the programme. 

T Levels will receive points in line with 3 A levels, such that the highest overall T Level grade (Distinction*) will be awarded the same number of points as 3 A*s at A level (168 UCAS points). An overall T Level Pass grade will be awarded at least 72 UCAS points, in line with 3 Ds at A level.

The Tariff points allocated for each overall grade are as follows:

UCAS Tariff points T Level overall grade
168 Distinction*


120 Merit

Pass (C or above on the core)


Pass (D or E on the core)

Partial Achievement

In addition to the revised look up tables, the department has agreed with UCAS to allocate UCAS tariff points for partial achievement of the programme. This will reflect the valuable learning and skills gained by some students who have not achieved a full T Level.

UCAS have updated the UCAS Tariff Points - Calculate Your Entry Requirements to ensure the points are reflected as relevant to each T Level.

Was this page helpful? Yes this article was useful No this article wasn't useful

You have 500 characters remaining